Claimant's Responsibility to Report Changes Medicare Savings Programs

If you report a change in your situation to the Social Security Office, you must also report the change to <u>Medicaid</u>. It is your responsibility to notify the **Medicaid District Office** of changes, such as the following:

1. ADDRESS

• Notify Medicaid if your address changes, especially if you move out of Alabama. If you have a Post Office Box, a street address or 911 address is needed.

<u>NOTE:</u> A Review Form will be mailed to you yearly. Failure to report a change of address will prevent you from receiving your Annual Review Form. In most cases, if the form is not completed and returned to Medicaid, <u>your eligibility for Medicaid will stop and your Social Security Check will decrease</u>.

2. <u>INCOME – Report the Following and Provide Proof:</u>

- If there is a change in the amount of any <u>check</u> or <u>money</u> you get. (For example, the rent you receive on your house increases or decreases, or you get an increase or decrease in your Social Security, VA, pension check, etc.)
- If you start getting any new type of check or money. (For example, you start getting a VA or pension check, or you get a job and receive wages.)
- If someone starts giving you money, even by putting money in your bank account.
- If you win any money, for instance, at the race track, casino, from a contest you entered, the lottery, etc.
- If someone dies and leaves you money.
- If you receive money from a lawsuit, settlement, insurance policy or alimony.
- If Social Security stops your disability check for any reason.

If you are married, you must report your spouse's income changes also.

3. OTHER

- Let us know if you marry <u>or</u> if your marriage ends due to death, divorce or separation. (If separated, please include the name, street address and SSN of spouse.)
- Report if you or your spouse enter a nursing home, jail, prison or mental health facility for 30 days or more.

4. MEDICARE AND OTHER HEALTH INSURANCE

- Let Medicaid know if your Medicare Part A and/or Medicare Part B stops for any reason.
- Report to Medicaid if you add, drop or change health insurance. Health insurance includes Medicare supplements, cancer insurance, etc. (For example, AARP, C+, United Health Care, AFLAC, etc.)

REMEMBER: The law <u>requires</u> that you report these changes to Medicaid. **Failure to do so could cause termination of Medicaid benefits and/or an obligation to repay benefits to the Alabama Medicaid Agency.** If you cannot decide whether or not to report something, <u>call your District Office within 10 days of the change just to be sure.</u>