
Rule No. 560-X-52-.15  HCBS Waiver Appeal Process 
 (1) An individual receiving a Notice of Action (denial, termination, suspension, 
reduction in services) from the operating agency (OA), may request an appeal if he/she disagrees 
with the decision.  The Notice of Action explains the reason for the denial, termination, 
suspension, or reduction in waiver services and the appeal rights made available to them. 
 
 (2) If an individual/guardian chooses to appeal an adverse decision, they may choose to 
appeal to the Department of Mental Health (DMH) Associate Commissioner of the 
Developmental Disabilities Division no later than 15 calendar days after the effective date 
printed on the notice of action. first to the Department of Mental Health, and if not satisfied with 
the decision rendered in that appeal, may then further appeal to the Alabama Medicaid Agency 
(AMA).  Or, they may appeal first directly to the Alabama Medicaid Agency.  The two processes 
are as follows: 
                      (a)   Appeal first to the Department of Mental Health (DMH) Associate 
Commissioner for the Division of Developmental Disabilities:  a written request for an appeal 
must be received by the Associate Commissioner no later than 15 days calendar days after the 
effective date printed on the Notice of Action. 
 
            (3)   Services will continue until the final outcome of the hearing for those individuals 
who are already receiving services when they submit an appeal within 10 days after the effective 
date of action unless: 
                      (a)   It is determined at the hearing that the sole issue is of one of Federal or State 
law or policy; and  
                      (b)   The agency promptly informs the beneficiary in writing that services are to be 
terminated or reduced pending the hearing decision. 
 
 (4)  Upon receipt of an appeal request by the DMH Associate Commissioner of the 
Developmental Disabilities Division, contact is made with the Regional Community Services 
Offices to request the information packet that they reviewed to base the denial decision. The 
DMH Associate Commissioner of the Developmental Disabilities Division will contact the 
individual/guardian and inform them that the division is in the process of reviewing their 
information. A written decision from the DMH Associate Commissioner will be mailed 
(certified) to the individual/guardian within 21 days after the review of all information is 
completed.  If the individual/guardian disagrees with the DMH Associate Commissioner’s 
decision, he/she can request submit a request for a Fair Hearing from to the AMAAlabama 
Medicaid Agency (Medicaid).  A written hearing request must be received by the AMAMedicaid 
no later than 6015 calendar days from the date of the DMH Associate Commissioner’s response 
letter. 
                      (b)   Appeal first to the Alabama Medicaid Agency:  a written request for an appeal 
must be submitted within 60 calendar days of the effective date printed on the Notice of Action.  
The AMA staff will assist the individual/guardian in scheduling a hearing.  
 
            (3)   Services will continue until the final outcome of the hearing for those individuals 
who are already receiving services when they submit an appeal within 10 days after the effective 
date of action unless: 



                      (a)   It is determined at the hearing that the sole issue is of one of Federal or State 
law or policy; and  
                      (b)   The agency promptly informs the beneficiary in writing that services are to be 
terminated or reduced pending the hearing decision. 
  
Author:  Mattie Jackson, Associate Director, Specialized Waiver Unit, LTC Healthcare Reform 
Division 
Statutory Authority:  Social Security Act §1915(c); 42 C.F.R.  Section 431, Subpart E−Fair 
Hearings for Applicants and Recipients.   
History:  New Rule:  Filed September 20, 2002; effective December 26, 2002. Amended: Filed 
June 11, 2014; effective July 16, 2014. Amended: Filed January 20, 2022; 
 


