Rule No. 560-X-12-.08 Physician Certification and Recertification

- (1) An eligible Medicaid recipient may be considered for home health care upon the recommendation of a medical doctor licensed in the State of Alabama.
- (2) The patient's attending physician must certify the need for home health services based upon a face-to-face encounter with the patient which occurred no more than 90 days before or 30 days after the start of service. The face-to-face encounter must be related to the primary reason the beneficiary requires home health services. The attending physician must and provide written documentation to the home health provider regarding the recipient's condition which justify that the patient meets home health criteria. The attending physician must be an active Medicaid provider licensed in the State of Alabama. The attending physician may conduct face-to-face encounters using telehealth systems.
- (3) The physician must recertify care every sixty (60) days if home services continue to be necessary.

Author: Renee R. Adams, Program Manager, Home Health, Long Term Care Division **Statutory Authority**: Title XIX, Social Security Act; 42 C.F.R. Section 440.70; and State Plan. **History**: Rule effective October 1, 1982. Amended: Filed December 18, 2000; effective: March 12, 2001. Amended: Filed December 19, 2016