## Rule No. 560-X-12-.08 Physician Certification and Recertification

- (1) An eligible Medicaid recipient may be considered for home health <u>services (i.e., nursing services and home health aide services)</u> <u>care</u> upon the <u>initial written prescription or order signed and place by a physician recommendation of a medical doctor licensed in the State of Alabama who develops the recipient's written plan of care (the "ordering physician").</u>
- (2) The <u>ordering patient's attending-physician must sign and place the initial prescription or ordercertify the need for home health services only after the required based upon a face-to-face encounter-visit with the recipient is conducted and documented by an authorized practitioner. patient</u>
- (3) Subsequent written prescriptions or orders for refills, ancillary supplies, repairs or services, or re-certifications do not require the ordering physician's signature or an additional face-to-face visit.
- (4) Either the ordering physician or one of the following authorized non-physician practitioners (NPP) may conduct the required face-to-face visit so that the ordering physician can place and sign the initial written prescription or order for home health services:
- (a) Certified registered nurse practitioners (CRNP) or clinical nurse specialists (CNS) working under a collaboration agreement under Alabama law with the ordering physician;
  - (b) Certified nurse midwifes under applicable Alabama law;
  - (c) Physician assistants (PA) under the supervision of the ordering physician; or
- (d) Attending acute or post-acute physicians, if recipients are admitted to home health services immediately after discharge from an acute or post-acute stay.
- (5) Only the ordering physician may document the clinical findings of the required face-to-face visit for the initial written prescription or order for home health services in the recipient's medical record. If an NPP conducted the required face-to-face visit, then the NPP must communicate the clinical findings of the required face-to-face visit to the ordering physician so that the ordering physician can document those clinical findings in the recipient's medical record.
- (6) The required face-to-face visit for the initial written prescription or order for home health services must be conducted which occurred no more than 90 days before or 30 days after the start of service. The face-to-face encounter visit must be related to the primary reason why the beneficiary recipient requires home health services. The attending ordering physician must provide written documentation to the home health provider regarding the recipient's condition, which justify that the patient recipient meets home health criteria. The attending ordering physician must be an active Medicaid provider licensed in the State of Alabama. The attending physician may conduct required face-to-face encounters visit may be conducted using telehealth systems.
- (37) The <u>ordering</u> physician must recertify care every sixty (60) days if home <u>health</u> services continue to be necessary.
- (8) For more information on the requirements for placing the initial written prescription or order for certain medical supplies, equipment, and appliances, please refer to

<u>Chapter 13—Durable Medical Equipment (DME), Supplies, Appliances, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Pedorthics (POP).</u>

**Author:** Renee R. Adams, Program Manager, Home Health, Long Term Care Division **Statutory Authority**: Title XIX, Social Security Act; 42 C.F.R. Section 440.70; and State Plan. **History**: Rule effective October 1, 1982. Amended: Filed December 18, 2000; Amended: Filed February 10, 2017; effective March 27, 2017. **Amended**: Filed June 20, 2018.